Alabama men’s wheelchair basketball team wins second national championship

The University of Alabama men’s wheelchair basketball team overcame a double-digit deficit in the second half to defeat Wisconsin-Whitewater, 69-65, and claim its second national championship on Saturday.

DeQuel Robinson led the team in scoring during the first half but Alabama center Michael Auprince was named the MVP of the title game

The Crimson Tide came in as the top-seeded team for the first time in the National Intercollegiate Wheelchair Basketball Tournament, played at Marshall, Minn., with Southwest Minnesota State serving as the host.

Alabama advanced to the title game with 55-45 victory over Missouri in a semifinal Friday.

Earlier Saturday, the Alabama’s women’s team lost in its effort to win a second straight national title, 64-55 to Texas-Arlington.

The men also won the national championship in 2013.

This was the 10 th overall national title for Alabama’s Adapted Athletics since being founded in 2003. The women’s team won in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2015 and 2017, and tennis captured the 2013, 2015 and 2017 titles.

This story will be updated.

The post Alabama men’s wheelchair basketball team wins second national championship appeared first on SEC Country.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.