2017 Heisman Trophy: Announcement time, TV channel, finalists, watch online

The 2017 Heisman Trophy announcement is set for Saturday, December 9. Find the 2017 Heisman Trophy announcement time, TV channel, finalists and watch online information for the ceremony.

Louisville QB Lamar Jackson, who won the Heisman last year, is one of the finalists.

2017 Heisman Trophy: Time for announcement

The 2017 Heisman Trophy will be presented during an hour-long show that starts at 8 p.m. ET on Saturday, Dec. 9. The trophy will be handed out toward the end of the show.

2017 Heisman Trophy: TV channel

The 2017 Heisman Trophy presentation will air live on ESPN.

2017 Heisman Trophy: Finalists

There are three Heisman finalists this year. Oklahoma QB Baker Mayfield is seen as the overwhelming favorite. If Mayfield wins, he would be the first Oklahoma player to win the award since Sam Bradford in 2008.

  • Louisville QB Lamar Jackson: 241-for-399 passing for 3,489 yards, 25 touchdowns, 6 interceptions; 1,443 rushing yards, 17 touchdowns
  • Stanford RB Bryce Love: 237 attempts, 1,973 rushing yards, 17 touchdowns
  • Oklahoma QB Baker Mayfield: 262-for-369 passing for 4,340 yards, 41 touchdowns, 5 interceptions; 310 rushing yards, 5 touchdowns

The three finalists were revealed on Monday, Dec. 4 during ESPN’s Monday Night Countdown.

There is no set number of Heisman finalists for a season. There will always be at least three finalists. In 1989, however, eight players were invited to the ceremony. Since Heisman finalists were first announced in 1982, the most frequent number of finalists is five. Five players have been finalists 11 times, four players have been named 10 times and three players have also been finalists 10 times. In 1994 and in 2013, six players were invited to the ceremony.

The closeness of the vote totals determines how many finalists will be named. If there’s clear separation between the third and fourth finisher, the number of official finalists will be capped at three.

2017 Heisman announcement: Watch online

The 2017 Heisman presentation can be watched online through WatchESPN.

Heisman Trophy winners

Here are the annual Heisman Trophy winners since 1970.

  • 2016: Lamar Jackson, Louisville QB
  • 2015: Derrick Henry, Alabama RB
  • 2014: Marcus Mariota, Oregon QB
  • 2013: Jameis Winston, Florida State QB
  • 2012: Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M QB
  • 2011: Robert Griffin III, Baylor QB
  • 2010: Cam Newton, Auburn QB
  • 2009: Mark Ingram, Alabama RB
  • 2008: Sam Bradford, Oklahoma QB
  • 2007: Tim Tebow, Florida QB
  • 2006: Troy Smith, Ohio State QB
  • 2005: Reggie Bush, USC RB (vacated)
  • 2004: Matt Leinart, USC QB
  • 2003: Jason White, Oklahoma QB
  • 2002: Carson Palmer, USC QB
  • 2001: Eric Crouch, Nebraska QB
  • 2000: Chris Weinke, Florida State QB
  • 1999: Ron Dayne, Wisconsin RB
  • 1998: Ricky Williams, Texas RB
  • 1997: Charles Woodson, Michigan DB/PR
  • 1996: Danny Wuerffel, Florida QB
  • 1995: Eddie George, Ohio State RB
  • 1994: Rashaan Salaam, Colorado RB
  • 1993: Charlie Ward, Florida State QB
  • 1992: Gino Torretta, Miami QB
  • 1991: Desmond Howard, Michigan WR/PR
  • 1990: Ty Detmer, BYU QB
  • 1989: Andre Ware, Houston QB
  • 1988: Barry Sanders, Oklahoma State RB
  • 1987: Tim Brown, Notre Dame WR
  • 1986: Vinny Testaverde, Miami QB
  • 1985: Bo Jackson, Auburn RB
  • 1984: Doug Flutie, Boston College QB
  • 1983: Mike Rozier, Nebraska RB
  • 1982: Herschel Walker, Georgia RB
  • 1981: Marcus Allen, USC RB
  • 1980: George Rogers, South Carolina RB
  • 1979: Charles White, USC RB
  • 1978: Billy Sims, Oklahoma RB
  • 1977: Earl Campbell, Texas RB
  • 1976: Tony Dorsett, Pitt RB
  • 1975: Archie Griffin, Ohio State RB
  • 1974: Archie Griffin, Ohio State RB
  • 1973: John Cappelletti, Penn State RB
  • 1972: Johnny Rodgers, Nebraska WR/RB
  • 1971: Pat Sullivan, Auburn QB
  • 1970: Jim Plunkett, Stanford QB

The post 2017 Heisman Trophy: Announcement time, TV channel, finalists, watch online appeared first on Land of 10.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.