Every voting booth was full at the First Christian Church on Middle Urbana Road Tuesday. Bill Lackey/Staff
Photo: Staff Writer
Photo: Staff Writer

5 things to know about Election 2017 results in Springfield

Here are five notable things to know about Election Day 2017 in the Springfield region:

1. The Springfield City Commission will have two new members

Incumbent commissioner Joyce Chilton and challengers Rob Rue and David Estrop appeared to be the winners at the polls on Tuesday, according to final, unofficial results from the Clark County Board of Elections.

» READ MORE: Rue, Chilton, Estrop elected to Springfield city commission

2. Former principal will join Springfield school board

Political newcomer Carol Dunlap, a former principal at Springfield High School, was the leading vote-getting Tuesday and won a seat on the Springfield City School District board of education. Incumbent Anita Biles took the second seat on the board with 32 percent of the vote. Incumbent Wanda Truss lost her seat Tuesday.

» READ MORE: New candidate elected to Springfield City school board, incumbent out

3. Northeastern request for new schools funds rejected

About 52 percent of voters cast ballots against the bond issue that would have built $117 million new schools in the community.

» READ MORE: Northeastern bond issue for new schools rejected

4. New Carlisle income tax collections will stay the same

New Carlisle voters rejected a proposed ballot measure Tuesday that would have required a major change to the city’s income tax collections. The issue would have required the city to give a 100 percent income tax credit to New Carlisle residents who work in another city.

» READ MORE: New Carlisle income tax change fails

5. Historical societies: Clark County wins, Champaign County loses

The Clark County Historical Society will have additional revenue for maintenance and improvement at the downtown Heritage Center after Tuesday’s election, but voters rejected a request for money to extend hours at the Champaign County Historical Society.

» READ MORE: Clark County Historical Society levy passes, Champaign County fails