XFL announces nicknames, logos for its 8 franchises

The XFL announced the names and logos for its eight franchises Wednesday as the league gears up for its February 2020 debut.

>> Read more trending news

In a tweet, the new professional football league unveiled the logos of the Dallas Renegades, Houston Roughnecks, Los Angeles Wildcats, New York Guardians, St. Louis BattleHawks, Seattle Dragons, Tampa Bay Vipers and Washington Defenders.

The announcement was made in a livestream on ESPN's website, as well as the XFL's YouTube and Twitter accounts, KIRO7 reported.

The Dragons will play at CenturyLink Field, and the first game is planned for Feb. 8, according to KIRO7..

The franchises will play in venues used by NFL, MLS and Major League Baseball teams, ESPN reported.

Last week, the XFL signed its first player, veteran quarterback Landry Jones.

The league will conduct its inaugural draft in October, ESPN reported. The XFL produced videos announcing each franchise's name and logo. Here is Seattle's:

About the Author