File photo. (Photo by Ron Jenkins/Getty Images)
Photo: Ron Jenkins/Getty Images
Photo: Ron Jenkins/Getty Images

OU quarterback Baker Mayfield wins Heisman

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield went from walk-on to the best collegiate football player in the country, winning the 2017 Heisman Trophy award.

>> Read more trending news

Mayfield, who wears No. 6, is the sixth Sooner to win a Heisman. The other award winners are Billy Vessels (1952), Steve Owens (1969), Billy Sims (1978), Jason White (2003) and Sam Bradford (2008).

This was Mayfield's third time as a Heisman finalist, an OU record (Jason White is the only other Sooner to make multiple trips to New York City for the Heisman presentation). Mayfield is the 7th player to ever be a finalist three times.

The other top finalists were Lamar Jackson, the Louisville quarterback who won the 2016 Heisman, and Bryce Love, Stanford's star running back. 

NEW YORK, NY - DECEMBER 09: Baker Mayfield of Oklahoma speaks at the press conference for the 2017 Heisman Trophy Presentation on December 9, 2017 in New York City. (Photo by Jeff Zelevansky/Getty Images)
Photo: Jeff Zelevansky/Getty Images

Mayfield led the Sooners to a 12-1 record and a berth in the College Football Playoff as the No. 2 team in the nation. Mayfield threw for 4,340 yards and 41 touchdowns -- both second best in the nation.

Mayfield also broke his own NCAA record for passing efficiency, which he set last year with a 203.8 rating this season. The next best rating was UCF quarterback McKenzie Milton at 184.8.

The Heisman was the sixth major accolades for Mayfield this week. He won the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, Maxwell Award, Davey O'Brien Award, AP Player of the Year and Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.