Tornado damage in Beavercreek on May 28. BILL LACKEY/STAFF

FEMA disaster centers to open in Beavercreek, Dayton for tornado aid

Two Federal Emergency Management Agency disaster recovery centers will open next week for people affected by the Memorial Day tornado outbreak.

One center will open Monday in Dayton to help renters, homeowners and businesses. It will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Sunday at Dayton Children’s Hospital Child Health Pavilion, 1010 Valley St. in Dayton.

A second center will open Wednesday at Shaw Elementary School, 3560 Kemp Road, and will operate from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. through July 9, according to a post on the city of Beavercreek’s Facebook page.

RELATED: Trotwood FEMA disaster center to open Saturday

People with property, personal or business losses may qualify for federal assistance. Survivors are encouraged to first register with FEMA online at or call (800) 621-3362.

You’ll need the following to complete your registration:

• Social Security Number, or, the SSN of a minor child in the household who is a U.S. citizen, non-citizen national or qualified alien.

• Annual household income

• Contact information (phone number, mailing address and damaged home address)

• Insurance information (coverage, insurance company name, etc.)

• Bank account information (if you are eligible to receive financial assistance, money can be deposited in your account)

The area’s first FEMA disaster recovery center will open Saturday at Trotwood-Madison High School, 4440 N. Union Road in Trotwood. It will be open daily from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.

Representatives from FEMA, the U.S. Small Business Administration, Ohio Emergency Management Agency and other Ohio agencies will be available to explain disaster assistance programs, answer questions about written correspondence and provide literature about repairs and rebuilding to make homes more disaster resistant.

MORE: SBA local tornado-damage loan centers open

The SBA opened two local centers Thursday, including one in Beavercreek at the Beavercreek Chamber of Commerce, 3210 Beaver-Vu Drive, and another in Montgomery County at the Harrison Twp. Community Center, 5945 North Dixie Drive.

RELATED: Barr Family Farm  in Beavercreek Twp. is hit by two tornadoes since April 2018

Ten Ohio counties have been approved for individual assistance, including Auglaize, Darke, Greene, Hocking, Mercer, Miami, Montgomery, Muskingum, Perry and Pickaway counties. Additional recovery centers will be opening to support survivors in many of these counties.

Thank you for reading the Springfield News-Sun and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Springfield News-Sun. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.