National Aviation Hall of Fame announces Class of 2018

Nov 29, 2017
At the 2015 National Aviation Hall of Fame ceremony Apollo 13 astronaut James A. Lovell received the first Neil Armstrong Outstanding Achievement Award. The event was held at the Dayton-based National Museum of the United States Air Force.

The National Aviation Hall of Fame announced the four men elected for its 2018 Enshrinement Dinner & Ceremony.

Executive board member Kathy Hughes and Executive Director Amy Spowart revealed the names Wednesday night before nearly 300 attendees at the fall awards dinner of the National Aeronautic Association in Washington, D.C.

The Class of 2018 represents a broad range of contributions to the advancement of flight and manned space exploration, according to the NAHF.

Honorees are: Walter Cunningham, John R. Dailey, William H. Dana and Ronald R. Fogleman.

The NAHF was founded in 1962 in Dayton and chartered in 1964 by the U.S. Congress. Its mission is to honor America’s aerospace legends to inspire future leaders, which the NAHF said it does through a 17,000 square-foot public Learning Center featuring interactive exhibits, a youth education program, other public outreach programs, its annual enshrinement ceremony and collaboration with like-minded organizations.