You have reached your limit of free articles this month.

Enjoy unlimited access to

Starting at just 99¢ for 8 weeks.


  • ePAPER

You have read of premium articles.

Get unlimited access to all of our breaking news, in-depth coverage and interactive features. Starting at just 99c for 8 weeks.


Welcome to

Your source for Clark and Champaign counties’ hometown news. All readers have free access to a limited number of stories every month.

If you are a News-Sun subscriber, please take a moment to login for unlimited access.

North vs. South in Pigskin Classic on horizon

The 30th annual Miami Valley Football Coaches Association All Star Game will be held at 7 p.m. on Friday, June 7, at Welcome Stadium. The North team’s head coach is Vandalia Butler assistant Mike Berry and is practicing at Trotwood-Madison. The South’s head coach is Arvie Crouch of Mount Health. South practices are at Franklin.

Nine area students also will receive $500 scholarships from the MVFCA: Greg Leonard (Dixie), Amber Barr (Beavercreek), Trent Tobias (Covington), Madison Cox (Lakota West), Haley Krause (Lakota East), Hannah Rolf (Northeastern), Kerianne Murphy (Lebanon), Mathew Roberts (Tecumseh) and William Derringer (Tri-County North).

Charlie O’Dell, a Fairmont assistant, will receive the Rick Newsock Leadership Award. He was the Bellbrook player who carried the American flag and led the Golden Eagles onto the field against visiting Monroe one day after the 9/11 attacks in 2001. That image was captured by Bellbrook-based photographer Nick Falzerano and published in the following edition of Sports Illustrated.

Being inducted into the Head Coaches Hall of Fame will be: John Aregood (Franklin), Tom Montgomery (Dunbar) and Hank Schneider (Stebbins). Gerard “Fuzzy” Faust will be inducted as a Head Coach Legend.

The MVFCA also will induct five coaches into its Assistant Coaches Hall of Fame: Carl Biechler (Franklin), Charlie Schoenberger (West Carrollton), Tom Flohres (Stebbins), Rick “Fireball” Roberts (Northmont) and Mark Smith (Beavercreek).

The game is officially called the White Allen Pigskin Classic and is sponsored by Kettering Sports Medicine. The Pigskin BBQ will be held at 6 p.m. on Wednesday at White Allen Chevrolet on North Main Street, Dayton. Jerry Faust will be the featured speaker.

They’re No. 1: The Fenwick High School boys volleyball team was ranked No. 1 in the state all season in Division II. But with that came an untested, upstart label.

That all changed Sunday when Fenwick stunned host Walsh Jesuit to win the Ohio High School Boys Volleyball Association state title.

Fenwick coach Yoon Ha also won the 2010 D-III state volleyball title with the Falcons’ girls. “I’m only as good as the players I’ve got,” he said.

The Falcons rallied to win 19-25, 27-25, 27-25 and 25-18.

Ryan Koehlke had a team-leading 20 kills. D-II player of the year Jeff Fiorenza and Nathan Wourms added 14 and eight kills, respectively.

Unger on tap: The 48th annual Sonny Unger Foundation Awards Banquet is Friday at Yankee Trace Golf Club in Centerville. The event will begin at 6 p.m. with dinner at 7 p.m.

Will Johnson, starting fullback for the Steelers, will be the featured speaker. The event is a fund-raiser for the Centerville football program. For ticket information, contact Elks head coach Ron Ullery (371-9585) or John Glueckert (312-2611).

Reader Comments ...