live video

Coverage of the 2017 Solar Eclipse

Gun background expansion: How senators voted

How the Senate voted Wednesday, 54-46, to reject an amendment that would have required background checks for guns bought at private gun shows and online.

Those sales are exempt now.

  • Alabama: Sessions (R), Nay; Shelby (R), Nay
  • Alaska: Begich (D), Nay; Murkowski (R-AK), Nay
  • Arizona: Flake (R), Nay; McCain (R), Yea
  • Arkansas: Boozman (R), Nay; Pryor (D), Nay
  • California: Boxer (D), Yea; Feinstein (D), Yea
  • Colorado: Bennet (D); Yea Udall (D), Yea
  • Connecticut: Blumenthal (D); Yea; Murphy (D), Yea
  • Delaware: Carper (D), Yea; Coons (D), Yea
  • Florida: Nelson (D), Yea; Rubio (R), Nay
  • Georgia: Chambliss (R); Nay Isakson (R), Nay
  • Hawaii: Hirono (D), Yea; Schatz (D), Yea
  • Idaho: Crapo (R), Nay ;Risch (R), Nay
  • Illinois: Durbin (D), Yea; Kirk (R), Yea
  • Indiana: Coats (R), Nay; Donnelly (D), Yea
  • Iowa: Grassley (R), Nay; Harkin (D), Yea
  • Kansas: Moran (R), Nay; Roberts (R), Nay
  • Kentucky: McConnell (R), Nay; Paul (R), Nay
  • Louisiana: Landrieu (D), Yea; Vitter (R), Nay
  • Maine: Collins (R), Yea; King (I), Yea
  • Maryland: Cardin (D), Yea; Mikulski (D), Yea
  • Massachusetts: Cowan (D), Yea; Warren (D), Yea
  • Michigan: Levin (D), Yea; Stabenow (D), Yea
  • Minnesota: Franken (D), Yea; Klobuchar (D), Yea
  • Mississippi: Cochran (R), Nay; Wicker (R), Nay
  • Missouri: Blunt (R), Nay; McCaskill (D), Yea
  • Montana: Baucus (D), Nay; Tester (D), Yea
  • Nebraska: Fischer (R), Nay; Johanns (R), Nay
  • Nevada: Heller (R), Nay; Reid (D), Nay
  • New Hampshire: Ayotte (R), Nay; Shaheen (D), Yea
  • New Jersey: Lautenberg (D), Yea; Menendez (D), Yea
  • New Mexico: Heinrich (D), Yea; Udall (D), Yea
  • New York: Gillibrand (D), Yea; Schumer (D), Yea
  • North Carolina: Burr (R), Nay; Hagan (D-, Yea
  • North Dakota: Heitkamp (D), Nay; Hoeven (R), Nay
  • Ohio: Brown (D), Yea; Portman (R), Nay
  • Oklahoma: Coburn (R), Nay; Inhofe (R-OK), Nay
  • Oregon: Merkley (D), Yea; Wyden (D), Yea
  • Pennsylvania: Casey (D), Yea; Toomey (R), Yea
  • Rhode Island: Reed (D), Yea Whitehouse (D), Yea
  • South Carolina: Graham (R), Nay; Scott (R), Nay
  • South Dakota: Johnson (D), Yea; Thune (R), Nay
  • Tennessee: Alexander (R), Nay; Corker (R), Nay
  • Texas: Cornyn (R), Nay; Cruz (R), Nay
  • Utah: Hatch (R), Nay; Lee (R), Nay
  • Vermont: Leahy (D), Yea; Sanders (I), Yea
  • Virginia: Kaine (D), Yea; Warner (D), Yea
  • Washington: Cantwell (D), Yea; Murray (D), Yea
  • West Virginia: Manchin (D), Yea; Rockefeller (D), Yea
  • Wisconsin: Baldwin (D), Yea; Johnson (R), Nay
  • Wyoming: Barrasso (R), Nay; Enzi (R), Nay


Source: U.S. Senate

Reader Comments ...

Next Up in Homepage